Drink Till You Get Stone

IMAG0820

I Dare You

Every time I walk into a liquor store I tell myself to try something new rather than having the same beer over and over again. This time I picked Arrogant Bastard Ale, and hope it would surprise me. The reason why I chose this beer was because of its name, and the label. The label says “This is an aggressive ale. You probably won’t like it,” and it seems challenging to me. Apparently, everyone likes challenges, so I chose this beer without any hesitation. I also picked another beer, which is called Stone Cali-Belgique IPA. I picked this one because of the same reason I picked the first beer. On the bottle, it says “‘Cali’ hints that it is California-style IPA, and ‘Belgie’ (which is how ‘Belgium’s Dutch speakers say the name of their country); the French-speaking Belgians say ‘Belgique’”. It makes me curious what does a California Style IPA mixed with Belgian yeast taste like.

 

 

Get Ready

Get Ready

Arrogant like a Boss!!!

Arrogant like a Boss!!!

Arrogant Bastard Ale is different from all the ales I have ever tried. Its taste is stronger; however, it only contains 7.2% ABV. It tastes deeper and richer than the most beer I have ever had. It is a customized strong ale for the American, and it is the Stone Brewing Company‘s masterpiece to challenge the most popular mass-produced American Style Light Lager. I have to admit that the warning on the label is somehow true. It is an aggressive beer, and it’s not suitable for everyone. I bought it home and asked my sister to enjoy the beer with me, but she refused because she said the label is not attractive enough to bring up her curiosity. So I begged her to drink with me. Surprisingly, she started to drink the beer after I forced her to drink a first sip of it, and it turned out she kept drinking the beer. She said even it gets warmer but the taste still the same. I think she started to like stronger beer after I forced her to drink it. A quote from the CEO of the Stone Company Brewing, Greg Koch, “Fizzy Yellow Beer is for Wussies!”

Stone Cali-Belgique IPA is influenced by the Belgian style, and it contains Belgian yeast to create a new taste of IPA unlike any other regular IPA. Even though it adds the Belgium yeast but it still remains the taste of California style IPA, fruitiness, spiciness and sweetness. This Stone Cali-Belgique IPA tastes so different from the IPA from other brands. I decided to try the other beers of their brand and seek for more surprises after tasting the products of the Stone Brewing Company.

My sister and I enjoyed these two beer which I picked so much, and we plan to try more products of the Stone Brewing Company in the future. The beer actually tastes better when you acquire a company to enjoy it together.

All pictures taken by Chadwick Lo

Leave a Reply

